MEETING BETWEEN COMMUNITY BENEFIT STEERING GROUP (CBSG) AND THE INTERIM MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE FOR SHETLAND COMMUNITY BENEFIT FUND LIMITED (COMMUNITY REPRESENTATIVES)

Minute of the meeting of CBSG and the Interim Management Committee for Shetland Community Benefit Fund Ltd (Community Representatives) on Thursday 24th November 2011.

Present from CBSG

Bobby Hunter ** (Chairman)

Iain Garrick**

Dan Thomson**

John Priest

Chris Smith

Alistair Laurenson

Present – Community Representatives

Representative Community Council Area

Bobby Hunter ** Burra & Trondra

David Manson Delting

lain Garrick ** Dunrossness

Karen Fraser Lerwick

Hubert Hunter Nesting & Lunnasting

Alan MacDonald Northmaven

Chris Bunyan Sandness & Walls Robert Nicolson Sandsting & Aithsting

George Smith Sandwick

Dean Gilfillan Tingwall, Whiteness & Weisdale

Laurence Robertson Unst John Dally Whalsay Dan Thompson ** Yell

In Attendance

Catherine Hughson Executive Officer, Voluntary Action Shetland (VAS)
Wendy Hand Development Officer, Voluntary Action Shetland

Kate Massie Admin Assistant, Voluntary Action Shetland (note taker)

1. Welcome and Introduction

Mr Bobby Hunter took the Chair and welcomed everyone to the meeting.

2. Apologies

Apologies were received from Mr Theo Smith (Bressay), Ms Martha Devine (Fetlar), Mr John Roelich (Skerries) and Mr Davie Sandison (Scalloway).

^{**} These attendees had a dual role at the meeting. They attended as members of CBSG and Community Representatives for their area.

3. Handover from CBSG to Community Representatives

Mr Hunter explained that this meeting had been called so that the CBSG could hand over to the Community Representatives the Rules for the establishment of the Interim Management Committee of the Shetland Community Fund Limited. Now that this has been achieved the CBSG will no longer exist.

Mr Hunter gave a vote of thanks for all the work done by CBSG and VAS.

Mr Hunter said that the Rules were drawn up to reflect the result from the public consultation which took place throughout Shetland during November 2010. The Consultation was facilitated by Mr Bob Yuill, Deputy Chief Executive, Scottish Agricultural Organisation Society (SAOS) Ltd and VAS.

The Rules have been designed to provide scope for change should there be a need to do so in the future. He told the Committee that he and Mr Iain Garrick had met last week with Scottish & Southern Energy and Viking Energy to inform them of the formation of the Shetland Community Benefit Fund Ltd. Both SSE and VE said they were pleased this Management Committee has been formed.

4. Election of Office Bearers for Interim Management Committee

Mr Hunter asked those present if they wanted Mrs Kate Massie to chair the meeting pro tem while the office bearers were elected or if they were happy for him to remain in the chair. There were no objections to Mr Hunter remaining in the chair for this agenda item.

The Community Representatives were asked to provide nomination for the Interim Management Committee for Chairman, Vice Chairman and Secretary/Treasurer.

<u>Chairman</u> – Mr Iain Garrick proposed Mr Bobby Hunter, seconded by Mr Dan Thomson. Mr Bobby Hunter accepted the position of Chairman for an interim period.

<u>Vice Chairman</u> – Mr Chris Bunyan proposed Mr Robert Nicolson, seconded by Mr John Dally. Mr Robert Nicolson accepted the position of Vice Chairman.

<u>Secretary/Treasurer</u> – Mr David Manson proposed Mr Iain Garrick, seconded by Mr Robert Nicolson. Mr Iain Garrick accepted the position of Secretary/Treasurer.

There being no further nominations or objection the Office Bearers were duly elected for the period until the first AGM of the Management Committee.

5. AOCB

There was further discussion and it was agreed that the Management Committee should meet again as soon as practicable.

It was agreed that Mr Chris Bunyan would prepare a press release for publication in due course.

Mrs Wendy Hand and Mrs Kate Massie will arrange for the final Consultation document and the Rules to be posted on the Community Portal.

Mr Bobby Hunter instructed Mrs Massie to circulate the minute from this meeting, copy of the Rules, Copy of the final consultation document and agenda and date of next meeting to all Committee Members.

Mr Chris Smith proposed a vote of thanks for Mr Bobby Hunter for all his hard work with the CBSG. Mr Hunter thanked Mr Smith for his proposal and further proposed a vote of thanks for VAS and Mr Bob Yuill for their help and support in getting the project this far.

These proposals were acknowledged by the Management Committee.

6. Date of Next Meeting

The date of the next meeting of the Interim Management Committee for Shetland Community Benefit Fund Ltd is scheduled for **Monday 12**th **December 2011 at 6pm in the Conference Room, Market House.**