# MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE SHETLAND COMMUNITY BENEFIT FUND LIMITED

Minute of the Annual General Meeting of the Management Committee Shetland Community Benefit Fund Ltd on Monday 1<sup>st</sup> October 2012 at 6pm in the Conference Room, Market House, Lerwick

## **Present**

Bobby Hunter Chairman Robert Nicolson Vice Chairman Barbara Cheyne Neville Martin John Roelich Dan Thompson Laurence Robertson Chris Bunyan Martin Tregonning Emma Williamson Kenny Pottinger Alan MacDonald

#### In Attendance

Kate Massie, Voluntary Action Shetland Admin Assistant (note taker)

#### 1. Apologies

Apologies were received from John Dally, Dean Gilfillan, Hubert Hunter and Martha Devine.

## 2. Chairman's welcome & report

The Chairman requested changes to the running order of the agenda. He suggested we record apologies; Chairman's report and appointment of directors at this meeting and then proceed to regular meeting of the Management Committee to deal with minute of meeting on 09/07/12 and matters arising. The Directors agreed to these changes.

The Chairman welcomed everyone to the meeting and said he was pleased to see so many of the Directors, both old and new, in attendance.

The Chairman reported that most of the development work was completed and the Co-op was established and registered with Financial Services Authority (FSA), the Rules are in place and noncharitable status achieved. The Policy for disbursement of funds is also in place although this policy will remain under review for the time being. The Chairman told the meeting that he, along with Alan MacDonald and Robert Nicolson, met with Viking Energy and Scottish and Southern Energy (SSE) on 17<sup>th</sup> September 2012. At the meeting Mr Reeves, Director of Corporate Relations with SSE explained to our Directors that Viking Energy Partnership (VEP) is a partnership between SSE and Viking Energy LLP. VEP hope to be able to work in partnership with SCBF regarding community benefit from alternative energy. The minute from the meeting along with a letter from VEP was circulated to all the Directors.

The meeting went on to discuss whether SCBF would consider negotiating with other alternative energy providers and the general consensus would need to be looked into and will be discussed further in the future. The Chairman said that he received phone call from Tavish Scott MSP regarding electric transport in Shetland this will also be discussed in the future.

The Chairman thanked all the Directors for their hard work and commitment over the last year. He also thanked Wendy Hand and Kate Massie for their continued support.

# 3. Appointment of Director for 2012/13

Mr Robert Nicolson tendered his resignation as Director on the Management Committee for Shetland Community Benefit Fund Ltd. The Chairman accepted his resignation. Mr Nicolson said he would inform Sandsting and Aithsting Community Council of his resignation and instruct them to nominate a replacement from their Community Council area. Ms Martha Devine had also informed Mrs Massie via email that she would be resigning as a Director and would inform Fetlar Community Council that they would need to nominate a delegate from their Community Council area. This means that, at the moment, we have vacancy for delegates from Sandsting & Aithsting and Fetlar Community Council areas.

There had already been a lot of changes within the Committee this year and the Directors agreed to keep the status quo. This motion was proposed by Mr Laurence Robertson and seconded by Mrs Barbara Cheyne.

The Committee proceeded to elect office bearers for the forthcoming year.

Nominations for Chairman were requested. Mr Dan Thompson proposed Mr Bobby Hunter remain as Chairman; seconded by Mr Neville Martin. There being no further nominations or objections Mr Hunter remained in the Chair.

The Chairman requested nominations for Vice Chairman. Laurence Robertson proposed Mr Alan McDonald; seconded by Mr John Roelich. There being no further nominations or objections Mr McDonald accepted the nomination and was elected Vice Chairman.

The Chairman requested nomination for Treasurer/company Secretary. The Chairman nominated Mr Martin Tregonning; seconded by Mr Chris Bunyan. There being no further nominations or objections Mr Tregonning accepted the nomination and was elected Treasurer/Company Secretary.

# 4. AOCB

There being no further business the AGM closed at 6.15pm